top of page
  • Stefan Goebel

Multi-family buildings larger 12,000 sf require Phius Core or PHI certification under the residential specialized code in Massachusetts to receive a permit and allow occupancy after construction.

➡ Read on to attached section R405.2 to learn how the building department evaluates if the projects meets this requirement.

➡ As of May 28th, 44 towns and cities in Massachusetts have adopted the Specialized Code: Acton, Amherst, Aquinnah, Arlington, Ashfield, Ashland, Bedford, Belmont, Boston, Brookline, Cambridge, Carlisle, Chelmsford, Concord, Dedham, Eastham, Hopkinton, Lexington, Lincoln, Maynard, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Natick, Needham, Newburyport, Newton, Northampton, Norwood, Salem, Sharon, Sherborn, Somerville, Stow, Swampscott, Truro, Wakefield, Watertown, Wayland, Wellesley, Wellfleet, West Tisbury, Weston, Worcester.

Thanks to the entire Phius team for your tireless work alongside the State to make it happen. Many generations to come will benefit from a healthier, more comfortable, resilient and affordable way to live!

Big thanks to Isaac Elnecave with Phius for taking the time and discussing this topic with us.

Contact Stefan Goebel for additional information. 

More information here:

--> Section R405.2

4 views0 comments


bottom of page